🍷 Wine, by the bottle.

#002

I must admit, I enjoy having a glass of wine with a friend.

But this made me think…

How do you say “bottle of wine”? I asked.

“botella de vino” they said.

And how do you say “wine bottle”?

“botella de vino, it’s the same”.

I smiled, because for English speakers they are not the same…

If you know the difference write to us. We will publish the best answer next week.

This week’s 3 tips:

Something to avoid 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ "I am used to do it"

If you want to say that you are accustomed to something, then you must use either a noun or gerund (doing). You cannot use an infinitive (to do) here!

"I am used to doing it"

You could also say, “I am used to it” (using the pronoun “it”). But the important thing is that when you use a verb here, it must end in “-ing”.

Remember that a noun or a gerund function in the same way.

She is used to the weather - noun

She is used to working on Saturdays - gerund

Something to sound confident 🧐

👔 Business jargon explained

"Win-win"

A situation in which both parties benefit.

Working from home can be a win-win for both employers and employees

Something silly 😅

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and please remember to follow us on social media 🫶🏼

Join the conversation

or to participate.