💳 Paying, winning and lying

#006

Good morning English learners!

This week make sure to watch our video at the bottom of the email.

It’s a couple of our favourite expressions to use when you think someone isn’t telling the truth.

I must go as I am meeting a friend for coffee.

Have a great week!

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ ‘Did you pay the coffees?’

When we use the word ‘pay’ alone, we speak of the person that receives the money.

I will pay James

Peter paid us

So if you ask, ‘did you pay the coffees?’, it is like you are giving money to the coffee.

‘Did you pay for the coffees?’

When buying goods or services, we need to say ‘pay for _____’.

My parents paid for my English classes when I was younger

I will pay you for the books

SOMETHING TO SOUND CONFIDENT 🧐

👔 Business jargon explained

‘Quick win’

Successes that you achieve early when starting on a new project, with a new client or in a new role.

Pedro is always telling us to look out for quick wins!

SOMETHING TO WATCH 👀

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶🏼

Join the conversation

or to participate.