🫵 I want to invite you

#007

So last weekend some friends invited us to stay with them.

We were happy to accept their invitation, and we stayed at their house.

The next day we went out for lunch.

When the bill came my friend said, ‘don’t worry, we will invite you.’

Invite us? I was confused.

Invite us where? Invite us to what?

‘We want to pay the bill,’ my friend said, looking at me seriously.

Ahhh, now I understood!

But they didn’t want to invite us! They wanted to treat us!

‘Yes, exactly. It’s our treat,’ he said.

I told him that it was very kind of them to treat us to lunch.

When was the last time you treated someone to lunch?

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ ‘I invite you’

You invite someone to a place or an event.

They invited us to dinner at their new house

She invited me to go with them to the Christmas market

So if you want someone to participate with you, you invite them.

‘It’s my treat’

When you want to pay for someone, you treat them.

My parents want to treat us to a holiday

They treated us to dinner. How kind!

SOMETHING TO READ 🧐

The article below is more challenging:

SOMETHING TO WATCH 👀

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶🏼

Join the conversation

or to participate.