🍻Out, not out out

#010

When you sleep fewer than five hours, and drink more than five beers the night before, there is nothing better than your wife waking you up at 6:30 saying:

‘Up-up!’ (¡Levántate!)

She knows I hate ‘up-up.’

‘Wakey-wakey!’ (¡despiértate!)

I sit up in bed.

‘Dear-dear’ (como ‘dios mio’), she said when she looked at me. ‘You have a hangover.’

I did not have a hangover.

She was wrong.

I was still drunk.

‘Chop-chop! (date prisa) Go have a shower.’

I did as I was told.

Obedient husband.

Back from the shower and dressed, I asked, ‘do we need to leave now?’

‘Now-now!’ (ahora mismo) she answered, stressed.

At the airport she bought me a coffee.

‘Careful! It’s hot-hot!(muy caliente).

‘Thanks.’

I sipped the coffee.

It was so-so. (más o menos / mediocre).

‘Why did you go out last night?’ She asked.

Disappointed wife.

‘I just had a few beers.’

‘I didn’t go out-out.’ (a una discoteca)

Sensible husband. (sensato)

We boarded the plane. It took off.

‘Bye-bye’ (adiós) Barcelona she said.

‘Night-night’ (buenas noches / a dormir) I said.

Wake me up when we get there.

Be careful with Christmas celebrations

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ ‘The house of my parents’

When saying a possessive, don’t use ‘of’. So avoid saying things like:

The car of Juan

The dog of Maria

‘My parent’s house’

When we use a possessive we must use the Saxon genitive. (That ‘s at the end)

Juan’s car

Maria’s dog

SOMETHING DIFFICULT 🤔

📰 What does the headline mean?

  • Curbs - Restrictions

  • To cut - To reduce

Restrictions on migrants will reduct the number of people arriving by 25%

SOMETHING TO WATCH 👀

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶🏼

Join the conversation

or to participate.