⏰ Belated

#026

Afternoon everyone 👋

It was my birthday last week.

Many wished me a Happy Birthday on the day, but some forgot.

Over the next couple of days people continued to wish me a Happy Birthday.

Although this time they said “Happy Belated Birthday!”

You see “belated” is a word we use when something happens later than expected. It shows a sense of delay.

So a “belated apology”, is an apology that is given later than it should have been.

Nevertheless, I thanked them for their kind wishes.

How do you say “mejor tarde que nunca”? Read on to find out 👇

“Happy Belated Birthday”

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING FROM OUR RESOURCES 👀

Click below to visit our resources page 👇

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ “I will to go”

Never say “to” after “will”.

“I will go”

Will is a modal verb and modal verbs are never followed by “to”.

I will call you when I arrive

When will your daughter graduate from university?

SOMETHING TO SOUND CONFIDENT 🧐

👔 Business jargon explained

“Benchmarking”

Measuring business metrics or performance and comparing them against other departments or competitors.

Benchmarking our customer service metrics against industry leaders helped us identify areas for improvement

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶

Join the conversation

or to participate.