🌹St. George

#029

I was lucky enough to know my great-grandmother, who lived to 93.

At her home she had a beautiful drawing of a knight slaying (killing) a dragon.

This was Saint George I was told, the patron saint of England.

I have always found it curious that England and Catalonia have the same patron saint. And a curious coincidence that Shakespeare and Cervantes both died on this day.

As an Englishman living in a foreign land it is difficult not to enjoy St. Jordi’s day.

Difficult not to enjoy a celebration of culture and love represented by books and roses. And easy to prefer it to Valentine’s day.

It is a beautiful tradition, and one that over the time that we have been here, have adopted as our own. Though I doubt we are alone.

My great-grandmother would have loved it.

I hope you enjoyed St. Jordi’s

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ “My fathers”

Some may have two fathers. Most have one though.

I spoke to my father last night

“My parents”

Make sure to translate “mis padres” as “my parents”.

We see my parents most weekends

SOMETHING TO SOUND CONFIDENT 🧐

👔 Business jargon explained

“Hidden agenda”

A secret or disguised motive for doing something.

I feel like he has a hidden agenda

It is similar to “intención oculta” in Spanish

SOMETHING FROM OUR RESOURCES 👀

How much English did you listen to last week?

Not Enough!

Click on the resources below and then click on “Podcasts”. Here you can listen to a great history podcast about the Caliphate of Córdoba.

Podcasts > Podcast of the week.

Click below to visit our resources page 👇 Enjoy!

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶

Join the conversation

or to participate.