😐 Not, not interested

#045

My wife asked me a question the other day.

‘Do you want to go to a magic show?’

‘A magic show?’ I responded. ‘What, like with a magician and tricks?’

‘Yea, exactly. A magic show.’

‘Mmm, perhaps.’

‘It looks really good and has excellent reviews.’

‘Yea I’m not, not interested.’

She looked at me.

‘What?’

‘I’m not, not interested,’ I repeated, slower.

‘Why don’t you just say you’re interested?’

‘Because the truth is I don’t think I am interested in seeing a magic show. But, I’m not against the idea either. So I’m not, not interested.’

‘Right. Seems a weird thing to say.’

‘Pues me da igual. As in, I don’t mind either way. That ok?’

Her look told me that the magic show was no longer on the table.

Would you be ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to a magic show?

This week’s 3 tips:

SOMETHING TO AVOID 🫣

🤦🏻‍♀️ “I don’t care”

Saying ‘I don’t care’ is perfectly correct. It might best translate as ‘no me importa’, and generally sounds much stronger than ‘I don’t mind’. The strength of the expression can vary depending on context and tone. It can range from neutral to dismissive to even rude.

She doesn’t care about comic book movies

I don’t care what you cook.

He doesn’t care what you think. He doesn’t value your opinion.

“I don’t mind”

‘I don’t mind’, is generally softer, more polite, and less dismissive in tone. Closer to ‘me da igual’ than ‘no me importa’.

I don’t mind what you cook. I’ll eat anything you make.

He won’t mind if you disagree with him. He likes to be challenged.

SOMETHING TO SOUND CONFIDENT 🧐

👔 Business jargon explained

“On the table”

If a plan or suggestion is “on the table” then it is available for people to discuss and perhaps agree on.

There are several offers on the table. We will evaluate them all and decide what is the best course of action

SOMETHING TO WATCH 👀

Some longer videos this week as some of you will be on holiday:

If you want to understand the history of Israel and Palestine better:

If you want to understand why we say “OK”:

If you want to understand how to be happy:

Keep learning,

The Crystal Clear English Team

Schedule a demo or call with us

Please give us your opinion about this newsletter by replying to us ✉️

and remember to follow us on social media 🫶

Reply

or to participate.